Self-care; Self-love


Every once in a while we need to make time for ourselves, to be by ourselves and recharge. It’s not selfish to do this because it’s just you taking care of yourself. It’s as simple and as complicated as that.

I am an introverted extrovert, best of both worlds, but my introverted self likes to take time away from the world and other people. It was something people used to call me antisocial for (mainly my family), but I began to realise that it wasn’t me being antisocial, it was me taking care of myself.

Certain people and situations tend to drain my batteries and leave me dull, tired, depressed, sad, and just wanting to be alone. So that is exactly what I do, I shut myself away from the world and focus on myself.

This is exactly what I did last night. While my boyfriend went off to the neighbors house to watch a soccer match, I couldn’t even fake enthusiasm. I was so tired of social interactions and anything having to deal with thinking and talking. I had a hell of a week trying to straighten up a car accident with the insurance agency and dealing with school and a very untastedul class and professor. I mean she tries me every class because I stood up to her about depression. (She was wrong and I was going to call her out on it.) I was just fine with dealing with people. I couldn’t. So I didn’t.

I stayed in the room watching tv and trying not to think. I picked up a book (Radical Self-love) and began to read and as I read I began to write. That did it. I was so engrossed in my writing that I didn’t mind being alone. I welcomed it. I enjoyed it. My batteries were well on their way to being charged. By the time my boyfriend got back I felt much better, happier, lighter, and less depressed. 

In no way was I trying to ignore my loved ones and my friends, but I can’t be around people when I’m drained. Drainage of my mind brings out the worst in me (i.e. Moodiness, depression, quietness, irritability, etc.) and that is not the person I want to share with the world, no, that is the person that I need to dedicate time to and take care of. 

This is probably one of the healthiest things you can do for yourself. Take time out of your busy schedule to relax, focus on your mental health, get to know yourself, do what you like and what you want. Being alone with yourself allows you to become acquainted with yourself.

I do this to recharge. I do this because I love myself.

I have mentioned before how I suffer from mental health illnesses and more often than not you want to be alone. Luckily, I have been overcoming this and have been more outgoing and social, but being too social drains me. Being alone allows me to recharge my emotions and my mental being, otherwise I would be incapable of not only having a good time and experience, but also showing the healthy, brilliant, confident, and sociable side of myself. And that is who I truly am. I can’t truly be myself without taking care of myself first.

Like I said before, it’s not selfish. It is healthy and it is love. You need to dedicate time to yourself like you dedicate time to your job, education, friends, and family. There needs to be a balance, like everything in life. Find your form of self care and self love and do it. Do it often.

*Things I do to recharge:

  • Be alone
  • Watch tv
  • Draw/paint
  • Read
  • Write
  • Do my nails
  • Etc.

These are some of the things I do to recharge my mental batteries. Try them out. Don’t be afraid to spend time with yourself and get to know who you truly are.

Leave a Reply

